Obituaries

Mrs Sheila Walker

  • Cremation Service
  • Fri 14th Jun 2024

Mrs Joyce Ormiston

  • Burial Service
  • Tue 11th Jun 2024

Mrs Ellen (Nellie) Hunt

  • Funeral Service
  • Mon 10th Jun 2024

Elizabeth 'Lena' Wright

  • Cremation Service
  • Mon 10th Jun 2024

Mr Steven Edward Marchant

  • Cremation Service
  • Fri 7th Jun 2024

Mrs Annie Davidson

  • Funeral Service
  • Wed 5th Jun 2024

Mr Robert Moralee

  • Funeral Service
  • Mon 3rd Jun 2024

Mr John Spence

  • Cremation Service
  • Fri 31st May 2024

Mrs Marjorie Mason

  • Funeral Service
  • Thu 30th May 2024

Miss Sheila Wilson

  • Cremation Service
  • Wed 29th May 2024

Miss Eilidh Walker

  • Cremation Service
  • Wed 29th May 2024

Mr David Calder

  • Funeral Service
  • Tue 28th May 2024

Attending a funeral FAQs

View all FAQs >

What should I wear?

We normally associate wearing black with going to a funeral. But it is increasingly typical for families to express a preferred dress code. Our advice is to look out for information from the family in a notice published either in newspapers, online or in the funeral director window to advise you of their preference.

How long does a service last?

Typically a service in most churches or crematoria lasts around 20-30 minutes. A formal mass may take a little longer and we would expect this to be nearer an hour. Finally, burials can vary in length as they are weather dependent.

Where should I sit?

Family and close friends typically reserve the first couple of rows in a service. We recommend sitting nearer the front than the back of a service space in order to support the family and enabling late arrivals to discreetly fill back rows.

Where should I send flowers?

Often a family will express a preference for flowers - or charity donations in lieu of flowers. We recommend you keep an eye on notices posted in newspapers, or online or in the funeral director window so you are able to follow their wishes.